My Happiness Project – Intro

“What you do every day matters more than what you do once in a while.” -Gretchen Rubin

Over the summer I read Gretchen Rubin’s The Happiness Project and it really caught my attention. A lot of what she wrote resonated with me because I had been struggling with happiness for the past year and a half–issues like my husband playing too many video games, loosing sleep due to a newborn, our living situation, and other generally stressful things. But at the end of the day, I knew that I should be happy. Because I loved my husband and he loved me, because our daughter was gorgeous and healthy and happy, because we weren’t starving or homeless or whathaveyou.

So Rubin’s premise that you could improve your happiness without changing your life (i.e. changing jobs, moving to Europe, getting divorced, etc.) struck me as extremely useful insight. The way she set up her project was by dedicating each month of the year to a certain aspect of her life that–through improvement–she thought would make her happier. I am going to follow that model in an endeavor to do the same.

Rubin’s scheme started in January, but as I am in college, the year for me starts in September (private school runs late). Here is my calendar:

September: Energy

October: Health & Hygiene

November: Diet

December: Money

January: Home

February: Marriage

March: Stress Management

April: Attitude

May: Motherhood

June: Friendships

July: Leisure/Fun

August: All of the above

I’ll be posting my in depth plan for Month One tomorrow, so stay tuned!

kate

3 thoughts on “My Happiness Project – Intro

Leave a Reply

