Month One: Energy

For context: Intro to My Happiness Project

This month I am going to hold myself accountable for boosting my energy. I strategically decided to do this resolution first because I knew I would be starting school and would need the extra energy, plus it would hopefully help me keep all my other resolutions going forward.

The tasks I have set myself are:

Regulate my sleep. Studies show that too much sleep can be just as harmful as too little, so I am going to set myself an alarm at bedtime as well as when it’s time to get up and make sure that I get a solid eight hours. I’m also going to factor in a timeframe for the snooze button so that I won’t be tempted to ignore my alarm all together.

Exercise. The idea here is “When in doubt, walk.” For instance, I plan to park on campus and walk everywhere from then on and always take the stairs. I also want to incorporate family time and go on walks to the park across the street from our neighborhood at least twice a week (which kills two birds with one stone and gives my husband a chance to defeat the PokéGym).

Practice better hygiene. Hygiene directly effects your sense of self worth and feelings of energy. I’ll go into more detail in the October post, but I want to start thinking about these things so it won’t be so difficult gearing up for it next month.

Eat better & less often. Poor diet can directly impact your energy. I’ll go in to more detail in the November post, but again, I want to start thinking about these things now.

Organize & de-clutter. Clutter really drags me down because I feel like I have a ton of cleaning to do before I can get any real work done, so this is an important one for boosting my energy. I’ll go into more detail in the January post.

I’ll report on how keeping this month’s resolutions goes when I start the next round in October, so stay tuned!

UPDATE: Check out my status report on how Month One went!

kate

20 thoughts on “Month One: Energy

Leave a Reply

