Ikea Play Kitchen Makeover

Since I recently posted my daughter PJ’s summer/flamingo/pineapple theme first birthday party, I decided to go over the IKEA play kitchen makeover I did for her birthday present.

IMG_1675.jpg Here is a very poor quality photo of the IKEA Duktig play kitchen after my husband assembled it (without me asking! Of course, I then had to take the hardware down to paint, but still). It was $99 and totally worth it–to me at least–because A) it’s sturdy and well made, B) the height is adjustable so it grows with your child, C) it’s super cute and wooden, and D) it’s just the bare bones so you can customize it any way you please! Most really good kitchens that I drool over (like these, these, & these) are much more expensive. You better believe I will be heading to Pottery Barn Kids for the appliances though.

img_1735

And here is a picture where I have added accessories and painted the hardware. I used Rust-oleum’s Shiny Metallic Copper for the base coat and added a plastic clear coat on the sink to make it last. The faux plants were four dollars each and the galvanized metal pots were a dollar each at IKEA (so a grand total of $15). The pineapple was a dollar at Party City (leftover from my sister-in-law’s turtle themed shower). The spice jars were all found in the dollar section at Target and I left the crinkle paper inside. On the counter is the adorable Fisher Price Wooden Barista Set. (Please ignore the screwdrivers in the microwave!)

img_2614I was originally going to paint the entire thing, but (out of laziness and deference to wood & white schemes) I decided to leave it as is. The statement piece would be the backsplash anyway. I ordered wrapping paper from Rifle Paper Co. in Birch. It comes with three 19.6 x 27 ” sheets for $8.50. I’m planning to use one of the others for a poster (like so) and the other will probably actually be used as gift wrap.

I had the cardboard backing leftover from my Walmart bookshelves (I bought something sturdier to paint and attach to them) and mod-podged the wrapping paper, then cut and stapled the board to the back of the kitchen.

img_9448

When all was said it done, it turned out really well, was super easy, and looked great (in my opinion). The kitchen towel was one in a set of two from IKEA (the other is hanging like wall art in our hallway).

The next step to was furnish it:

The tea set I got from Pottery Barn Kids (with coupons and sales, it ended up being just under $12). It’s something like this, but hers is blue and the ballerinas are dressed like ice skaters. I got the plates and dip-dyed wooden utensils from the dollar section at Target. The pots, pans, and utensils were a part of the Duktig line ($24 all together, but they were a gift from her godmother). The basket of play food were a gift too, so I don’t know where they’re from.

Christmas is probably going to be a mixer and a shopping cart. I can’t wait for that time of year!

kate

One thought on “Ikea Play Kitchen Makeover

Leave a Reply

