Gender Roles & the Expectation to Nurture

“We are, after all, the gender onto which a giant Here to Serve button has been eternally pinned. We’re expected to nurture and give by the very virtue of our femaleness, to consider other people’s feelings and needs before our own.”
-The Truth That Lives There via Tiny Beautiful Things: Advice on Love and Life from Dear Sugar by Cheryl Strayed

I’ve only just noticed, after reading the quote above, that my husband and I fall into these gender roles. I’ve always attributed it to personality, but it explains why I am always worried about what other people think, worried about my daughter’s comfort over my own, so defensive about my choice to go to college still, so conflicted about my own needs and wants in general.

My husband, on the other hand…

See full article here.

kate

Leave a Reply

