Wedding Album

So, I love our wedding album from Shutterfly* and I’ve since ordered my pregnancy journal and PJ’s baby book from them (appearing next weekend).

I used the Wedding Collection: The Big Day template with the storytelling style (which lets you customize a little more for $5 extra).

Our wedding was one of the best days of my life. The weather behaved (in a Georgia February), everything looked gorgeous, and as soon as I slipped on my dress (because, admittedly, before that I had cried a couple of times and slept very little) I felt amazing. A talented friend of mine from high school agreed to take photos for $150 and they turned out fabulous!

Here’s the cover:

Screen Shot 2016-10-22 at 10.47.43 PM.png

Note: we got all our rings from Kay. My engagement ring–a delicate band with three small diamonds–was on clearance for approx. $330 (formerly $700). My wedding band was $100 and Scott’s was $500. Total: $930.

Here’s the first inside page with the lyrics to our wedding song:

Screen Shot 2016-10-22 at 10.47.56 PM.png

Most of our wedding playlist actually came from the About Time soundtrack and we now have the funniest story to tell about my maid of honor’s boyfriend holding the boombox (cheap wedding alert) so that when our recessional song came on (Il Mondo) everyone looked at him like he’d screwed everything up–meanwhile Scott and I were marching down the aisle with our arms flung wide singing our hearts out.

Screen Shot 2016-10-22 at 10.48.05 PM.png

About our stationary: I ordered the vintage stamps off Etsy (only enough to adorn the envelopes we were photographing) and sent them out to a calligrapher I found, again, on Etsy (and again, only those few). I actually made the invitations and r.s.v.p.s myself through a little ingenuity, free font downloads, word, and the border of a free printable invite I found on a wedding website (which I just put a text box over). Total cost (including cardstock from Walmart): approximately $40.

And just for fun, here’s our save the date (which I also got from the same free printable wedding website):

10339218_10204944475683824_8622083766957146177_o.jpg

If you want a kick, here’s the link to said wedding website.

Screen Shot 2016-10-22 at 10.48.16 PM.png

My maid of honor setting out our “Eat, Drink, & Be Married” napkins.

About the flowers: after seeing the obscene amounts that a florist would quote me (approx. $1,000 for bouquets, bouts, and 5 centerpieces) I ordered in bulk from Fifty Flowers. We used garden roses, ranunculuses, hypericum berries, regular budding roses, eucalyptus, and some filler that came along with. We ended up with leftovers and the total cost (with floral wire, velvet ribbon, and pins for the bouts) was approx. $475. The arrangements turned out a little pinker than I’d planned, but looking back I’m glad because it balanced out my white and green scheme a little more.

Screen Shot 2016-10-22 at 10.48.24 PM.png

Me, my father, my mother, and my sister.

I got my dress from David’s Bridal on sale for $99 and I actually bought it before we were even engaged, but we’d been talking about getting married for a couple of months and dating for a couple of years and Scott actually drove me to the store (and stayed in the truck) so needless to say he was supportive. I never thought I’d wear a tea-length dress, but when I saw how it fit on me (and c’mon the price was awesome) I caved. Total cost of my outfit (including shoes from Target & cardigan from Kohls): approx. $160.

Screen Shot 2016-10-22 at 10.48.31 PM.png

My husband, his stepfather, his mother, and his sister.

My husband wore a suit because we decided not to rent (he’d spent the equivalent of buying a suit over the pass four years renting tuxes for three proms), so we invested in our future so to speak. We went to Kohls and spent approx. $250 (including slacks, blazer, dress socks, dress shirt, belt, tie, and tie bar).

Screen Shot 2016-10-22 at 10.48.38 PM.png

My best friend and my sister were my maid of honor and bridesmaid–respectively. Scott’s uncle was his best man (we like to keep things small).

My maids’ dresses both came from ModCloth (the Exquisite on the Equinox and the Entre Spruce). They actually ended up switching dresses because once they arrived and tried them on, the fit worked better that way. My mom actually bought my sister’s dress so I only spent approx. $40 (the Spruce was on sale).

Screen Shot 2016-10-22 at 10.48.50 PM.png

My dad walking me down the aisle.

I love this man so much. I just want to leave that here for a second.

But I will say that, though he walked me down the aisle and ‘handed me off’ to Scott, there was no “And who gives this woman’s hand in marriage?” rhetoric in our ceremony. Because I gave myself.

I also hyphenated my name. Because I’m a feminist and I love my name and its heritage and there will always be a part of me who is the girl before I knew Scott.

Screen Shot 2016-10-22 at 10.48.57 PM.png

Screen Shot 2016-10-22 at 10.49.05 PM.png

For our vows, click here.

Screen Shot 2016-10-22 at 10.49.15 PM.png

For music, we hooked up Scott’s iPod with the wedding playlist to his dock (it was a small ballroom) and let it roll. Total cost: $0.

For food, Scott’s mother made batches of stew and soup (the venue let us use their kitchen). Total cost: $0.

Screen Shot 2016-10-22 at 10.49.21 PM.png

The cakes were german chocolate, red velvet, and the double-decker was marble; the frosting was cream cheese. My maid of honor had a friend who was an aspiring baker and needed the practice, so she only charged me for the supplies. Total cost: $100.

Our “cake toppers” were fresh flowers and, in the cheese dome, Cherish Teddies I borrowed from my mother’s collection and Ginny and Harry lego figurines (Scott was born on July 31st too and looks a lot like he’s described in the books in my opinion).

Screen Shot 2016-10-22 at 10.49.30 PM.png

Sequence of events #1: My sister cried because I got married. HA! She has human feelings after all.

Sequence of events #2: We were not going to participate in the cliché of smashing cake into each other’s faces, but my maid of honor intervened.

Sequence of events #3: The heel of my shoe got caught in the grate. Perfect end to a perfect day.

Screen Shot 2016-10-22 at 10.49.41 PM.png

Bottom right: this is the happiest I have ever seen my grandmother look.

Screen Shot 2016-10-22 at 10.49.52 PM.png

This quote is from ‘our song’ Anyone Else But You (Juno version), but we couldn’t dance to it so it didn’t make the cut.

Screen Shot 2016-10-22 at 10.50.34 PM.png

I still have flakes of the marker they used in the creases of my windows.

My mother paid for the venue–which was $900 for the entire day with no strings attached.

My father paid for our honeymoon–which, admittedly, was a disaster because the fog in Tampa never let the ship dock and we wandered the city until they finally cancelled it–but we went for our one year anniversary (read all about it here).

Other decorations/costs were meager. All I can think of is balloons, table linens, and bowls (glasses, silverware, and bowls were provided by the venue). Total cost: approx. $200.

Total cost of wedding (for the couple): $2,345.

Not too shabby, right? Starting off in debt is not the best way to do things and I feel like we had a beautiful wedding. Plus, we needed to start saving because I was already 12 weeks pregnant!

*not a sponsored post

kate

One thought on “Wedding Album

Leave a Reply

