Pregnancy Journal

As promised, here is my pregnancy journal from Shutterfly (I used the Pregnancy Journal template with the storytelling style).

Screen Shot 2016-10-24 at 10.12.31 AM.png

I really enjoyed the prompts that the journal gave me because I didn’t want to forget the fun little details of my pregnancy (especially since we’re pretty sure that this will be the only child we have). Like this tidbit:

Screen Shot 2016-10-24 at 10.12.58 AM.png

Note: Megan was my maid of honor and is PJ’s honorary god mother.

Screen Shot 2016-10-24 at 10.13.07 AM.png

Unfortunately, I was too focused on planning my wedding during the first trimester and I wasn’t thin to begin with so taking monthly pictures of my ‘bump’ was never really a question for me. So tracking the growth of my baby through fruit graphics will have to be enough.Screen Shot 2016-10-24 at 10.13.16 AM.png

I wrote this poem (Little Stranger) during the second trimester and put it in the book hoping PJ will enjoy it someday.

Screen Shot 2016-10-24 at 10.13.26 AM.png

Here’s what the page says:

We found out at my doctor’s visit. I lay down, lifted my shirt, pulled my belly band down, the technician put the gel on my stomach, pressed down hard, and then we started to see things: little hands trying to shield her eyes from the intruding light. A little person. I held Scott’s hand tight when the tech said it was a girl and started to cry, a bewildered smile stretched across my face.

Later, I felt a flood of relief. Diapers and potty training would be easier. She’d likely be easier to handle, or at least slightly more polite than her male counterpart might have been. We’d get along so well! After all, I’m a girl too. And daddy’s love their daughters like no one else.

We called everyone–Dad, Mom, Shane & Elisha, Shana…Dad said he knew from the beginning, of course. Everyone was happy and excited, especially us.

I would like to say that I have since realized that A) girls are not/do not have to be “more polite” by virtual of their gender and B) my daughter is wild anyway, stereotypes be damned.

Screen Shot 2016-10-24 at 10.13.34 AM.png

This page asks for little tidbits like what other names were in the running and boy names we toyed with. Ironically, I fell so much in love with the names Charlotte and Magnolia that they showed up in two stories I wrote (The Little Dancer and Magnolia).

Screen Shot 2016-10-24 at 10.13.44 AM.png

Again, my perspective has changed a little bit since writing “How My Life Has Changed” (see Why I Never Wanted to Be a Mom). The poem’s actual publication title is Pregnant Dreams.

Screen Shot 2016-10-24 at 10.13.54 AM.png

I was not an attractive pregnant woman.

My shower theme was storybook/forest.

Screen Shot 2016-10-24 at 10.14.02 AM.png

Here is a free printable calendar I got from Emily Ley that I had everyone stamp and sign their guesses for PJ’s birthdate. The right page has a selection of cards family and friends wrote at the shower.

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-10-14-17-am

How We Prepared for the Baby:

I spent months pinning ideas, browsing Target, and carefully researching all of the best baby products for my registry. I read books (From the Hips, Pregnancy Countdown, and Bringing Up Bébé), methodically crafted a birth plan, packed the hospital bag with everything I could think of, and generally stressed about becoming a new mom. Meanwhile, Scott told me not to worry–and that I was being neurotic.

I would like to warn you that Shutterfly did not print the accents on Bébé and rather than just leaving them out, it actually printed with odd notations.

Screen Shot 2016-10-24 at 10.14.27 AM.png

My lovely friend over at Love, Tahimi took these maternity photos for me and they’re the only pictures of me pregnant that I can stand to look at.

Screen Shot 2016-10-24 at 10.14.36 AM.png

Note: peridot is the birthstone for the month of August, not for all Leos.

I would just like to say that those Leo qualities are all accurate of my husband and I hope that PJ avoids at least the inflexibility.

Screen Shot 2016-10-24 at 10.14.44 AM.png

To read the full text of her birth story, click here.

This is not a sponsored post. All opinions are my own.

kate

One thought on “Pregnancy Journal

Leave a Reply

