Month Three (Status Report)

For context: Intro to My Happiness Project | Month One: Energy & Status Report | Month Two: Health & Hygiene & Status Report | Month Three: Diet

Last month’s resolution of improving my diet went really well at the beginning of the month. I did prep some freezer-to-crock-pot meals and cooked them for an entire week (and ate leftovers for the next week and a half). I chose the following recipes because I was able to buy minimal ingredients (I didn’t want to invest a ton of money if it didn’t work out). My husband was kind enough to cook an entire giant bag of boneless, skinless chicken breasts (and make quesadillas out of them too).

Left: Potato & Corn Chowder (recipe here), I wanted to make a ham & corn chowder but my father doesn’t eat any kind of pork. It was a bit of a disaster largely due to the fact that I should have frozen everything except the chicken brother (user error!) and I couldn’t close the crock pot lid so it didn’t cook thoroughly enough and some of the potatoes even got burned. I am not a cook. I repeat, I am not a cook.

Center: Chicken Tortilla Soup (my mother-in-law’s recipe), which was actually a huge success! It’s three cans (or roughly two cartons) of chicken broth, two cans of corn, two cans of Rotel tomatoes (I like the lime kind), two cans of beans (I used black beans, but pinto are fine), one packet of taco seasoning, one block of queso (I cut it into eight pieces and added it just before I left for the day), and one bag of Boil-in-a-Bag rice that I added because I ran out of cooked chicken. Luckily, my husband had extra seasoned chicken from the quesadillas and I added it (even after it had been sitting in the freezer an hour or two). Garnish with shredded cheese and serve with tortilla chips. Feeds: me for weeks.

Right: Chicken Noodle Soup (recipe here), which was really good, though it still didn’t turn out quite right. I only say that because I should’ve added more chicken broth, but it ended up having a very pasta-y consistency instead of soup-y. It tasted great all the same!

That being said, I didn’t try it again the next week. My family was less than thrilled, so I didn’t put forth the effort (plus I had to wash the crock pot every night).

I did eat at Panera a lot (mainly because of Becca) but at least it was healthier than a bag full of junk food from home or a run to McDonald’s. To be honest though, I inhaled an entire batch of snickerdoodles because I was stressing over school, so…

Also, the water thing did not go well. During this past week, I drank two cups of coffee and two glasses of Pepsi a day because I was working on this a behemoth magazine project and finishing my thesis.

Hopefully, now that finals are this week, I’ll be able to focus on me a little more.

Check out my resolutions for Month Four: Money!

kate

Leave a Reply

