Month Eight: Attitude

For context: Intro to My Happiness Project | Month One: Energy & Status Report | Month Two: Health & Hygiene & Status Report | Month Three: Diet & Status Report | Month Four: Money & Status Report | Month Five: Home & Status Report | Month Six: Marriage & Status Report | Month Seven: Stress Management & Status Report

This month I am going to focus on attitude. Not like sassafras, but perspective and mindfulness. I thought this would be a good month to strive for it because I will be transitioning from school to summer. Not to mention, I’m trying to cope with the fact that I lost out on some very covetable and promising internship opportunities, so I’m trying not to stress about The Future.

The tasks I have set myself are:

Don’t gossip. It’s a social activity, but I always feel rotten after I participate in it.

Stop worrying. Worrying does not change the outcome. My mantras will be–“This too shall pass,” “The past is past,” “Love the middle,” and “Take a break and come back to it.”

Express gratitude. I want to write thank you notes and just tell people when I feel gratitude. I know it always helps to feel appreciated.

Give compliments. Not only give them, but receive them graciously. There have been countless times I walked away from an encounter kicking myself for not just saying thank you instead of some variation of “Oh no, you’re quite wrong. I’m actually hideous.”

I’ll report on how keeping this month’s resolutions goes when I start the next round in May, so stay tuned!

UPDATE: Check out my status report on how Month Eight went!

kate

4 thoughts on “Month Eight: Attitude

Leave a Reply

